Podengo Central

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Podengo Central

Podengo Central

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Podengo Central

A place for Podengo owners and fanciers to share information and research the breed in a topical manner. Supported by the APPMGC & APPPC

3 posters

New to Podengos

J@n3t

New to Podengos Empty New to Podengos

Post  J@n3t Sun Oct 14, 2012 2:09 pm

Hi Podengo lovers,

I am new to Podengos – never actually met one, and joined here to find out exactly what I do want by those who live with these guys.

To introduce myself: I used to do lots of dog activities (obedience, herding, agility, tracking, therapy certification, event organizing, etc – but have not tried lure, yet!). However, I am less inclined to these kinds of organized events now, so I am interested in a "pet" rather than a competitor (I am also in an isolated area that would require too much traveling to be competitive). Therefore, I don’t need the strong drive that I used to treasure in a dog, but would enjoy ‘curiosity’ as a valuable training attribute. Additionally, I live in the Southwest, so heat tolerance is necessary.

I have been researching breeds for some time and have come to the conclusion that a Podengo would be just what I am looking for. I am seeking a fun, personable, responsive, loyal companion who plays well with others and enjoys hiking (sounds like a line for a dating site – haha). A dog that is clean and easy-groom would be a plus. I also like a dog who will enjoy a good laugh – and the podengo is apparently known for this. I have a cat, so less drive would please her as well.

While looks are not a priority, I am drawn to the spiky looks of the wire-haired podengos and I probably prefer a medio, although a grande is not out of the question. I would not be opposed to a fair amount of white in the coat either. Health and good structure, however, are important. I also prefer a male puppy.